Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

Cross My Heart (Alex Cross): James Patterson: 9780316210911 Reviews & Promo Codes

~ search results
Price: $ 29
You Save: $ 166.89 ?
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.



Most Helpful Customer Reviews

328 of 343 people found the following review helpful

I haven't Given Up on Alex Cross but I may give up on James Patterson.

By John W Kurtze on November 29, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

In the Authors notes at the end of this 450 page short story, James Patterson asks his readers not go give up on Alex Cross. If Patterson has to make plea to his loyal fans he already knows he hasn't given his fans what we have come to expect. I except that tragedy in life happens to good people Patterson asks his fans to believe and accept we are needing to have faith in the human spirit to pull us through a difficult or life changing event. He shouldn't have to tell us to keep the faith. We know it.

I feel you already have the next Alex Cross book written. Why should your fans have to buy another book to find out how this book should have ended.. To drag this out even for ten days is letting evil win. All of Alex Cross books have always taken fans though difficult situations and some cliff hangers. This is not a cliff hanger it is a stall Patterson is holding the ending hostage. I as a long time fan of all Patterson's books feel cheated. Patterson brings the reader through the story to the point that Alex pulls it together and is ready to go after Marcus Sunday and then the story just stops. Cross My Heart was a 5 star book up until the end of Chapter 112 when it dropped to a reluctant 2 star rating. I am sure your readers wouldn't mind if you had needed to expand Cross My Heart from 450 pages to 650 pages

You write a message telling us we will see another Alex Cross book. Of course we will see another Alex Cross book but will anyone want to buy the book. The fans were hung out to dry for a long time. For almost 14 months fans were waiting for the predictable ending to the Michael Bennett crisis. As a loyal fan I feel Patterson has not shown his loyal fans the respect we deserve.

14 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

244 of 254 people found the following review helpful

Half a book for the price of a whole

By neil koelemeyer on November 30, 2013

Format: Hardcover

Strange way to publish half a book. If you want to read this I suggest waiting for the sequel and reading them together to get the whole story. Very disappointed in James Patterson.

14 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

373 of 395 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK

By Judith D. Loughran on November 28, 2013

Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase

What a crappy way to sell books. Unless you are willing to pay for TWO BOOKS, don't buy this book. It has no ending. After 400 plus pages, the reader is left hanging and told that they have to buy the second book when it becomes available to know how the first book ends!!!!!!!!!!!! I cannot believe that James Patterson would do such a thing to his loyal cadre of readers. Last Patterson book that his disappointed fan will buy!!!

25 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

170 of 177 people found the following review helpful

Cheap trick

By Mary S. Wright on November 28, 2013

Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase

Cheap trick at the end to get you to buy the next book; I am a James Patterson lover, I have read almost all his books, but this one and Gone, the last two I read, just weren't up to the level of his other books. This book was contrived, impossible, and predictable.

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

187 of 196 people found the following review helpful

Shame on You James Patterson

By Grace E. on November 29, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

What a cheap shot to all your fans to write an Alex Cross story with a "to be continued" ending.....SHAME ON YOU !!! After 400+ pages....REALLY....wait til sometime next year to find out....I don't think so.

2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

135 of 140 people found the following review helpful

Cheated in NY

By Kay G. Turner on November 30, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Like many other reviewers I am an avid Alex Cross fan, having read every single one of his books. When I got to the end of this one I felt cheated because the ending was missing, like someone ripped the final chapters out of the book (which is hard to do on a Kindle). I would have bought the next book anyway; there was no need to leave your faithful readers hanging.

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

151 of 160 people found the following review helpful

Patterson Insulted his fans by the way he ended this book

By Avidreader on November 29, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

While the book was good, it's hard to overlook what appears a betrayal by the author. Patterson's books have been getting shorter and more trite over the past several years. You get the preview (which is a real selling point) but then upon purchasing for anywhere from $12 -$16, you get something you can read in a couple to three hours. This book, however, is very good, and I had hopes Patterson's ghost writer or collaborator was on to something. Only to be left with a half finished book. Patterson himself was aware of this, hence his note to readers at the end spewing some story that he really was not duping writers, he was doing it for the good of change that all series must have. Ok fine! He could given it to us in another 100 pages and had a gripping novel. Instead he is tapping it out to his next novel in the series, next year. I felt cheated and used as if Patterson didn't trust his readers to be in board with that and needed a year to digest the change. Well here is the change: it was a sorry trick and came across insulting to the intelligence of the reader. Maybe has millions of $'s and can spend on limitless entertainment, but most of his fans make an investment in the books they choose to read. IMO, the follow up to this book should be gratis.

3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

159 of 171 people found the following review helpful

Don't give this author another penny, the word greedy says it all!

By Ruth on November 29, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition

If I had known that this book didn't end after 300 plus pages of reading I don't think I would have bothered. I've always liked James Patterson's books but I may never read another one. Why should I buy this book and then have to buy another one just to finish the story?? Isn't Patterson making enough money? This was ridiculous and very disappointing.

2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Editorial Reviews

Review

20 YEARS OF ALEX CROSS

"Behind all the noise and the numbers, we shouldn't forget that no one gets this big without amazing natural storytelling talent--which is what James Patterson has, in spades. The Alex Cross series proves it."--Lee Child

"Twenty years ago, I wrote, 'Along Came a Spider is the best thriller I've come across in many a year. It deserves to be this season's #1 bestseller and should instantly make James Patterson a household name.' A household name, indeed. Congratulations to James Patterson on twenty years of Alex Cross and on Cross My Heart, which I am loving. You the man."--Nelson DeMille

"It's no mystery why James Patterson is the world's most popular thriller writer: his uncanny skill in creating living, breathing characters we truly feel for and seamless, lightning-fast plots. I do this for a living, and he still manages to keep me guessing from the first to last page. I've been a devoted Alex Cross fan for twenty years, when the first in the series appeared, and Cross My Heart proves that both author and his hero are at the top of their game. Simply put: Nobody does it better."--Jeffery Deaver

"Every once in a while a writer comes along and fundamentally changes the way people read. He or she is so bright, so innovative, so industrious that what they envision and create becomes the measure by which all others are judged. In 1993 one such writer--James Patterson--began to do just that. Now, 20 years later, with his mission still unfolding, James Patterson is the gold standard by which all others are judged. Bravo."--Steve Berry

"James Patterson is The Boss. End of."--Ian Rankin

"Alex Cross is one of the best-written heroes in American fiction, and each Cross novel further defines what it means to be a professional, a husband, a father, and above all, a man. Congratulations to James Patterson on twenty years of Alex Cross--both of you only get better and better."--Lisa Scottoline

"Twenty years after the first Alex Cross story, he has become one of the greatest fictional detectives of all time, a character for the ages. Cross My Heart has got to be the most terrifying and shocking Cross thriller to date, full of unexpected twists, savage turns, and electrifying suspense. This is the page-turner to end all page turners."--Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child

About the Author

James Patterson has had more New York Times bestsellers than any other writer, ever, according to Guinness World Records. Since his first novel won the Edgar Award in 1977 James Patterson's books have sold more than 280 million copies. He is the author of the Alex Cross novels, the most popular detective series of the past twenty-five years, including Kiss the Girls and Along Came a Spider. Mr. Patterson also writes the bestselling Women's Murder Club novels, set in San Francisco, and the top-selling New York detective series of all time, featuring Detective Michael Bennett. He writes full-time and lives in Florida with his family.

Product Details

www.booffers.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.booffers.com is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.